Leaving an Abusive Relationship

Posted on Updated on


First posted, October 2010, Domestic Violence Awareness Month.

Domestic violence awareness is demanded every day.

I left him because I couldn’t stand it anymore. I would say to other women in the same situation to get out of that violence, because nothing good comes from violence only mistreatment, humiliation, low self- esteem. But we have to have our own self-esteem to be able to continue to be strong, and to say that’s it; I can’t stand this anymore; and life changes for us. I would advise them to get out of that life of violence, that you can do it, that they need to give themselves self-worth and not leave their children orphan because that’s what was going to happen to me if I haven’t come here. Now thank God, I’m here and I’m fine.” (Carmela)

For many women, leaving an abusive relationship is NOT that simple. Many make it out safely, many others don’t. There is often a greater risk in leaving than in staying. The violence often escalate after the woman leaves the relationship. Statistic show that women are more likely to be murdered by their abuser more when she leaves than when she stays. What does she do, leave or stay? What a hellish dilemma!

 

Leave a Reply

